Skip To Content

Best Auto Repair, Gainesville

1883 N Main St Gainesville, FL 32609

352-367-2500
Opening Hours
  • Mon 7:30AM - 5:00PM
  • Tue 7:30AM - 5:00PM
  • Wed 7:30AM - 5:00PM
  • Thu 7:30AM - 5:00PM
  • Fri 7:30AM - 5:00PM
  • Sat 8:00AM - 12:00PM
  • Sun Closed
CONTACT US

You Don't Have to Take Our Word for It!

Here's what some of our satisfied customers have to say about Bill's Low Cost Transmission & Auto:

reviewicon
06/10/2020

Did great work! Highly recommend.



reviewicon
05/27/2020

People if you are looking for that honest repair shop you have always wanted I suggest you give them your business. After the dealership didn't want to warranty the alternator on a brand new car we took it here because we had spoken with George and he thought he might know a better solution. After 2 minutes of looking it over found it was just a loose ground connection and took care of it. He even helped us get the car there by using a jump box to keep the engine charged. It was only 4 miles down the road and only 2 from the dealership which told her she could pay for a tow truck. They didn't try to sell us on stuff we didn't need or lie like the dealership just to exploit a single mother. So I am writing this review so anyone that is looking for trust worthy and quality service can have the same experience we did. Go see George and he will make sure you are taken good care of!



reviewicon
01/14/2014

Fantastic service! Had trouble starting my car and had it towed here. They replaced my battery and did an oil change upon my request and everything's been running great since. Real friendly staff and comfortable waiting room. Dependable mechanic.



reviewicon
03/12/2015

My transmission completely failed without any warning just recently. After researching ALL the shops in Gainesville, Florida, a coworker referred me to Bills Transmission. I spoke to Bill personally and he offered to tow my vehicle to his place and he would call back with the estimate. I didn't want to burden him with towing so I had it towed. Not 1 hour after it was dropped at Bills he called me with the horrific news. I explained how unprepared "Financially" I was for this type of repair and Bill calmly advised me that he will have one of his techs basically dissect my transmission so he can come up with other options that might help me. Without delay, Bill contacted me with 2 different options that helped me have it repaired and be able to afford it. THANKS BILL AND STAFF!!!!!!!!! If anyone asks me where to bring their vehicle, without hesitation, I tell them BILLS !!!!!!



reviewicon
09/03/2015

George went out of his way to diagnose our problem with our car. After taking the car to two dealerships that could not figure out the problem, and told me they thought it was the transmission, bills discovered otherwise. Bills did not want to charge me for repairs that I did not need. It turned out to be an electrical problem not related to the transmission at all. I fully recommend Bills.



reviewicon
11/17/2015

Bill's low cost transmission fixed my mother's truck over 4 years ago and they did a wonderful job. They are fair and reasonable. I have a Chevy Impala that I am taking to them to work on. If you need transmission work done Bill is your guy, him and his crew.



reviewicon
04/08/2016

Very thorough and professional facility. They went out of their way to help with my car situation, and went above and beyond my expectations. I experienced GREAT customer service, knowledgeable, experienced, friendly compassionate staff, and great work on my transmission. I would highly recommend Bill's Low Cost Transmission to my family and friends. They know what they are doing!



reviewicon
04/12/2017

My husband Duane took our car in to get our transmission serviced. His experience was fair and honest. Our son is taking his car there in a few days as well. It's rare to find honest people. We're so happy that we found Bills's Low cost Transmissions.



reviewicon
06/01/2017

I am a return customer because of the great service! Bill is honest and I won't go anywhere else.



reviewicon
08/18/2017

Despite the bad reviews, we've worked with Bill's for several years with several different vehicles. They are helpful and professional. Not perfect, but decent human beings who will get your vehicle fixed, and back on the road for a reasonable price. They fixed everything from my radio that my child stuck pennies into, to replacing Transmissions, to oil changes.



reviewicon
08/22/2017

My transmission completely failed without any warning just recently. After researching ALL the shops in Gainesville, Florida, a coworker referred me to Bills Transmission. I spoke to Bill personally and he offered to tow my vehicle to his place and he would call back with the estimate. I didn't want to burden him with towing so I had it towed. Not 1 hour after it was dropped at Bills he called me with the horrific news. I explained how unprepared "Financially" I was for this type of repair and Bill calmly advised me that he will have one of his techs basically dissect my transmission so he can come up with other options that might help me. Without delay, Bill contacted me with 2 different options that helped me have it repaired and be able to afford it. THANKS BILL AND STAFF!!!!!!!!! If anyone asks me where to bring their vehicle, without hesitation, I tell them BILLS !!!!!!



reviewicon
08/28/2017

Very efficient and nice people there ;-)



reviewicon
09/02/2017

These people saved my car and my ability to go to a Coldplay concert after my car was nearly ruined by a chain repair shop, I owe them big. Very kind, would recommend.



reviewicon
09/22/2017

Only place I bring my cars



reviewicon
12/01/2017

Excellent service. Bill is honest and extremely helpful. The work was done well and we are pleased with everything. Update 12/1 - still happy with the repair but had a problem. Jiffy Lube said that there were some hoses which were not in the proper place. Went back to Bill's and asked them to take a look. Bill said it would be an hour before they could look at it. We waited. After an hour I asked how much longer and was told just another 30 minutes. After an additional 30 minutes my keys had not moved off the counter so I said that we were leaving. The person managing said, "Ok", and offered no apology.



reviewicon
02/19/2018

Great work at fair price.



reviewicon
05/08/2018

My work van would not go into reverse and was having trouble going in forward. I was looking for a transmission shop and saw Bills low cost, 1800 block of N. main street. I stopped, talked to Bill, told him I needed my work van transmission fixed as soon as possible. Bill told me they would rebuild my tranny and guarantee it for a year and have it done in two days. I own WW Rooter Plumbing Drain and Sewer cleaning and told him that sounded great, although I didnt think they would have it fixed that quick and for the price he quoted.I was shocked when he called me one and a half days later and told me it was fixed and the cost was less 'than he quoted me.I would highly recommend Bills low cost transmission and auto repair. I will post if every thing is still good in the future with my work van. Mort Wolfson owner WW Rooter in Gainesville Fl. Every thing is fine with my tranny and its been more than a year. Great job Bill.



reviewicon
01/01/2019

He did a great job on analyzing my car and fixing it. He now will have all my business.



reviewicon
01/26/2019

You guys took great care of me, when I had a major repair and wasn't exactly ready for it. Everything is been great ever since and I will see you for my next major repair or routine maintenance quick and great work clean and I always felt as if my vehicle was safe on your property thanks again see you soon.



reviewicon
03/05/2019

My dad recommended this shop bc of the great service done on rebuilding his Chevy 2500HD transmission last year. I came in for Chevy 1500 transmission work today and left 100% satisfied.



reviewicon
03/08/2019

My daughters transmission was out and we couldnt find anyone reputable that had the skills to do the job right. I asked a small crowd of older mechanically inclined men at the local store for someone that could do this 100% right. One older mechanic said if we didnt use Bill,,,it was our fault when it wasnt right. I called Bill and the same day he sent a tow truck and picked it up. Hes been actively working on this the whole week and it's pretty busy around there. Today is the 5th day and it should be ready. If not, Monday. That's pretty amazing. Everyone else was 2 weeks minimum. Also, this transmission had been attempted to be taken out by an idiot claiming to be a mechanic but really was a tree guy, so most parts were in the back seat. It's hard to go behind a dumba$$ on a car. This transmission shop has high standards because they give an excellent warranty that let's you know they fixed it! Pretty happy with the way it went. I'd take my cars there and I'd tell you to do the same. Thanks Bill !



reviewicon
05/22/2019

Mom took her Honda to them for all cylinder misfire that 2 other mechanics, and not even the dealer could fix, but they got it the first time. She also had a transmission replaced here about 2 years ago, and it still hasn't had a single issue. Highly recommend.



reviewicon
06/07/2019

Thank you guys for fixing my fuel pump and got to go to see my family !



reviewicon
06/14/2019

Great fast service friendly low price thanks bill



reviewicon
08/05/2019

Honest and fast



reviewicon
10/03/2019

They do good honest work at a reasonable price. They guarantee what they fix



reviewicon
11/14/2019

Being someone who is bound to a wheelchair, you quickly learn that your vehicle is your main source of independence. My truck started giving me problems staying in gear so I took it over to Bill's shop. George, a mechanic, was quick to help. I got to the shop before they officially opened but George was so nice to open the office doors for my daughter and I to have a place to hangout until Bill got into the shop. Being welcomed was a great feeling. Anyways, they were able to rebuild my transmission for me faster than I thought possible and for a fair price. These guys know their stuff. Thanks!



reviewicon
12/01/2019

Honest and fast



reviewicon
12/09/2019

Great place to get your vehicle repaired friendly and professional



reviewicon
02/01/2020

Does great job for a reasonable price back up work



reviewicon
02/03/2020

Great people. Always honest!!! Only place we take our vehicles.



reviewicon
02/13/2020

Best guy I know for auto repairs



  • Jasper
  • AAA Approved Auto Repair
  • ASE Master Technician
  • Car Care Aware

Testimonials

, 06/10/2020
Did great work! Highly recommend.
view all reviews
TAP TO CALL NOW 352-367-2500 X